16 March 2011

blog challenge day one - introduce yourself

Many of you may already know more than you care to at this point if you are a regular follower of my blog or have read my fact page. But-- I will do as I'm told and introduce myself.

My name is Jennifer and most people call me just that. There are a few who call me Jenn or Jenny (but those are few and far between) and close friends and/or people I grew up with tend to call me JJ.

Side funny story: I switched schools in 2nd grade and my teacher asked me what I would like to be called on my first day. I thought about it for a minute and replied with, "Buttons?" Ummmm.... no. She obviously wanted to know if I went by Jenn or Jenny and I replied with freaking Buttons. No one had ever called me that before either... just some of my usual randomness. So, if you want... you can call me Buttons too.

I am 29 years old (hitting mile marker 30 in June) and live in Myrtle Beach, SC. I have lived here since 2004 and I lived in Dillon, SC for the 23 years before that. Dillon is a small town about an hour west of MB (you know us from the South measure our distance in minutes... not miles) and it is known for its two extreme cultures--redneck and ghetto. There aren't too many who fall in the gray area... you are typically one or the other. Thankfully, I pride myself as one of those few who does fall in that gray area... as well as one of the few who escaped its strong hold. Don't get wrong... Dillon is my heart and I love it whole heartedly (and the friends of mine who still live there) but there isn't much room to grow in that town... and I'm always craving change and growth... and the ocean. At times, you will hear me mention "Dillon got the best of me" or "speaking in Dillonese" or "that bitch doesn't know who she is messing with--I'm from Dillon." Those are the times when a) I'm intoxicated and think I'm hardcore or b) I'm pissed off and think I'm hardcore or c) someone is underestimating me by thinking I'm not hardcore. And of course.. I'm the most hardcore person I know... I'm from Dillon! I'm kidding. Sorta. Anyway, at times it seeps up outta me because like the saying goes, "You can take the girl outta Dillon... but you can't take Dillon outta the girl!"

I am the baby in the family with only one brother who is five years older than me. He is married (and has been for 11 years) and has four children. Ben is 10; Leigh Anna is 8; Lindsay is 3; and Luke is 6 months. Poor girl has her hands full. She is a registered nurse but is currently working as a stay-at-home mom. My brother is a lawyer and works for the attorney general in Columbia, SC.

I have an associate's degree in business, a bachelor's degree in psychology, and I am applying to grad school for a master's degree in social work. I currently work at the university where I graduated and work in the financial aid office processing loans and verification.

I'm obsessed with Clemson and anything to do with the sunshine and water.

2 comments :

  1. Loved learning more about you :)

    That Buttons story is hilarious!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I didn't realize you live in Myrtle Beach! I love that place! How fun!

    ReplyDelete

Let me hear it.